The Power of a Good Song

 

Music is a very powerful thing, it can change your mood, it can change you the way you view the world around you, it can change you. And believe me if you let it, it will. Have you ever heard a song and then felt a heaviness in your chest? or one that just made you cry for no particular reason? Yeah me too, honestly  I don’t like that feeling, it makes me uncomfortable, I tend to prefer music as entertainment and not as lessons.

Did I mention I love music? Well, I do, and probably way too much because silence makes me really uncomfortable. My taste ranges from The Monkees, Frank Sinatra, Celtic Thunder, Michael Buble and Josh Groban, to Chris Rice and Casting Crowns, and many in between.

dsc_0033

Pardon My Dust by Chris Rice

Chris Rice has probably been the most influential singer in my life. His style is honest, heartfelt, and sometimes a bit humorous( I’m talking to you Cartoons). I think it’s because it’s so relatable that his music can touch me.

Okay, it’s time to admit something, I was a very judgmental person when I was younger, it may have been my age, or maybe I just wasn’t thinking about it, but there it was. It’s not that I wasn’t like I was always judging everyone, but if I saw someone going through something I maybe wasn’t as forgiving as I should. Pardon My Dust really speaks to that part of my brain.

Pardon my dust, excuse this mess
I’ve left a trail of debris, so you’ve gotta be
Very careful where you step
I’ve made some mistakes, so what?
Done quite a few things wrong
Could you roll up your tidy sleeves and help a brother along?

Pardon my dust, excuse the mess
Please don’t be another judge I need to try to impress
Stop calling me names, stop casting your stones
Let the good Lord sort this all out when we are all at home

Pardon my dust, excuse my mess
Help me believe there’s gonna be something beautiful on the other side of this
Have patience with me, I’m still sweeping floors
So pardon my dust, I’ll pardon yours

 

dsc_0035

The Face Of Christ by Chris Rice

This one is sorta along the same lines as Pardon My Dust but to me, it’s speaking more to the way we think about people you don’t really know. We are all guilty of walking by someone in the store and putting them in a box, whether it’s by the way they dress or by where they’re from. It’s only human, and honestly, I don’t believe that bad, but when we start making assumptions on their character and heart based solely on how they appear to us that it starts to be a problem. ” Judge not lest you too be judged”

He shares a room outside with a dozen other guys
And the only roof he knows is that sometimes starry sky
A tattered sleeping bag on a concrete slab is his bed
And its too cold to talk tonight
So I just sit with him instead and think

How did I find myself in a better place
I can’t look down on the frown on the other guys face
Cause when I stoop down low, look him square in the eye
I get a funny feeling, I just might be dealing
With the face of Christ

See you had no choice which day you would be born
Or the color of your skin, or what planet you’d be on
Would your mind be strong, would your eyes be blue or brown
Whether daddy would be rich, or if momma stuck around at all

dsc_0039

More Like Falling In Love by Jason Gray

Would you trust something if it was just a bunch of words and rules? I know I wouldn’t. This song speaks to that part of me that sometimes thinks “why I’m I doing this anyway”. The answer is because I want to and I believe in it, not because I have to or else.

Give me rules,
I will break them
Show me lines
I will cross them
I need more than a truth to believe
I need a truth that lives, moves, and breathes
To sweep me off my feet
It’s gotta be more like falling in love
Than something to believe in
More like losing my heart
Than giving my allegiance
Caught up, called out
Come take a look at me now
It’s like I’m falling
It’s like I’m falling in love
Give me words
I’ll misuse them
Obligations
I’ll misplace them
Cause all religion ever made of me
Was just a sinner with a stone tied to my feet
And love has set me free
It’s gotta be more like falling in love
Than something to believe in
More like losing my heart
Than giving my allegiance
Caught up, called out
Come take a look at me now

 

dsc_0043

Blessings by Laura Story

For the mere nineteen years of my existence it has been fairly charmed life, but just like everyone else I have had struggles and things I wish would or wouldn’t happen, but just because we want it doesn’t always mean we need it.

We pray for blessings
We pray for peace
Comfort for family, protection while we sleep
We pray for healing, for prosperity
We pray for Your mighty hand to ease our suffering
All the while, You hear each spoken need
Yet love is way too much to give us lesser things

‘Cause what if your blessings come through raindrops
What if Your healing comes through tears
What if a thousand sleepless nights are what it takes to know You’re near
What if trials of this life are Your mercies in disguise

We pray for wisdom
Your voice to hear
We cry in anger when we cannot feel You near
We doubt your goodness, we doubt your love
As if every promise from Your Word is not enough
All the while, You hear each desperate plea
And long that we’d have faith to believe

When friends betray us
When darkness seems to win
We know that pain reminds this heart
That this is not our home

What if my greatest disappointments
Or the aching of this life
Is the revealing of a greater thirst this world can’t satisfy
What if trials of this life
The rain, the storms, the hardest nights
Are your mercies in disguise

dsc_0050

Roll With The Punches by Lanka

Not only is this a really fun and upbeat song, but it actually has a really good message. What this song says to me is that no matter hard a situation is you can survive it.

That really hurt me
Like a fist to the face
I wasn’t ready
To be knocked out of place
Suddenly everything I was sure of
Sinking below the depths of the surface
It’s unexpected, it usually is
When you’re rejected
Or you take a hit
Suddenly everything’s thrown in a spin
No time to grow a thicker skin
What kind of situation am I in now?

When life tries to knock all the wind out of you
You’ve got to roll, roll, roll with the punches
If all life offers is black and blue
You’ve got to roll, roll, roll with the punches

Little weapons over the phone
They like to threaten the life that I know
They say get over here and get into the ring
But I’m not really much a fighter
My mechanisms of defense are down
My resistance is out on the town
I was alarmed by your attack
This isn’t a boxing match

When life tries to knock all the wind out of you
You’ve got to roll, roll, roll with the punches
If all life offers is black and blue
You’ve got to roll, roll, roll with the punches

When all I want is a little stability
Some time without any bruises
You go and tell me the things that I don’t want to hear
Putting your fist into my ears
Filling me up with the dread and the fear leaving you all in pieces
Suddenly everything’s thrown in a spin
No time to grow a thicker skin
What kind of situation am I in now?

dsc_0052

Thrive by Casting Crowns

This song spoke to the part of me that just wanted to make it through the day, the week, the month, and didn’t really give it a second thought.

Here in this worn and weary land
Where many a dream has died
Like a tree planted by the water
We never will run dry
So living water flowing through
God we thirst for more of You
Fill our hearts and flood our souls
With one desire
Just to know You and yo make You known
We lift Your name on High
Shine like the sun made darkness run and hide
We know we were made for so much more
Than ordinary lives
It’s time for us to more than just survive
We were made to thrive
Into Your word we’re digging deep
To know our Father’s heart
Into the world we’re reaching out
To show them who You are
So living water flowing through
God we thirst for more of You
Fill our hearts and flood our souls
With one desire
Just to know You and to make You known
We lift Your name on High
Shine like the sun made darkness run and hide
We know we were made for so much more
Than ordinary lives
It’s time for us to more than just survive
We were made to thrive
Joy unspeakable, faith unsinkable,
Love unstoppable, anything is possible
Just to know You and to make You known
We lift Your name on High
Shine like the sun made darkness run and hide
We know we were made for so much more
Than ordinary lives
It’s time for us to more than just survive
We were made to thrive

dsc_0080

Just Be Held by Casting Crowns

I tend to be that person who doesn’t like to be emotional, I like to be able to do things on my own. This can be a good thing in that I’m  very determined to get through the times, but a bad thing because I don’t open up easily.

Hold it all together
Everybody needs you strong
But life hits you out of nowhere
And barely leaves you holding on

And when you’re tired of fighting
Chained by your control
There’s freedom in surrender
Lay it down and let it go

So when you’re on your knees and answers seem so far away
You’re not alone, stop holding on and just be held
Your world’s not falling apart, it’s falling into place
I’m on the throne, stop holding on and just be held
Just be held, just be held

If your eyes are on the storm
You’ll wonder if I love you still
But if your eyes are on the cross
You’ll know I always have and I always will

And not a tear is wasted
In time, you’ll understand
I’m painting beauty with the ashes
Your life is in My hands

So when you’re on your knees and answers seem so far away
You’re not alone, stop holding on and just be held
Your world’s not falling apart, it’s falling into place
I’m on the throne, stop holding on and just be held
Just be held, just be held

Lift your hands, lift your eyes
In the storm is where you’ll find Me
And where you are, I’ll hold your heart
I’ll hold your heart
Come to Me, find your rest
In the arms of the God who won’t let go

So There you go. I know this was a bit different from my usual post, but I really enjoyed writing it and that’s the important thing.  I have been wanting to start stepping into writing more lifestyle post, but haven’t really known how. So, I guess you can say this was my first shot.

What are some songs that have changed the way you look at life?

Anna.

  Last Post        Bloglovin        Instagram        Pinterest

6 thoughts on “The Power of a Good Song

  1. Brittany says:

    Wow! I love this blog post the best so far! All the songs you listed speak to me too. Maybe that’s because I’m your sister?🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

